Pushing It Farther, Castroneves gets the Pole September 24, 2005 -

Castroneves started this race in the “Firestone Fast Six” with a lap time of one minute and 30.6688 seconds. Castroneves beat the record set by Andrea Monteremini in 1997 by almost eight seconds. Castroneves is the drives for the number three Marlboro Team. The track at Watkins Glen has 11 turns and measures 3.37 miles in length. In the shootout, the single qualifying lap, all of the drivers improved their times due to better track conditions. Castroneves improved his speed on the track from 133.361 mph to 133.806 mph. Scott Dixon started second with a time of 1: 30.8783 and a speed of 132.65. The current Indy Series Car Champion, Tony Kanaan started fifth with a time of 1:30:9576.